Outreachy- Internship wrap-up

ยท

2 min read

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

During the 13 weeks of the Outreachy Internship, I learned a lot about software development and wrote E2E test suites, both unit and UI tests in java for the ODK-X android app to catch regression. I worked with Roboelectric and Mockito to write integration tests for various business logic in view models, AsyncTask, ContentProvider, and utility classes, making the tests more effective for refactoring, and worked with Expresso to write UI tests and used Expresso Test Recorder to ensure the correctness of UX behavior.

Also, I met a lot of amazing people ๐Ÿ’– and had fun learning and solving doubts with them. I can say my communication and technical skills have improved a lot. It was an amazing experience connecting with all these wonderful and talented people from all across the world.

I would highly recommend all the open-source enthusiasts to try applying to the Outreachy Internship ๐Ÿ—ฝ, as It has helped me develop and improve more than just my ability to code.

As I wrap up my summer internship, I wanted to thank my mentors Waylon Brunette, Love Sparus Otudor, and Caroline Krafft, for their guidance and efforts in making me understand the steps involved in the project and explaining why they are necessary by using different scenarios. I'm also grateful to the ODK-X community and had a great learning experience with them. Iโ€™m looking forward to utilizing all the knowledge and experience gained for future projects and roles. As for now I'll continue to contribute to ODK-X and other open-source organizations

ย